Home

Gluten Free Louises Oatcakes

ingredients

1 oz (28 g) sesame seeds
5 oz (140 g) pinhead oatmeal or whole oats
2 oz (55 g) dry toasted pot barley grains
Pinch of bicarbonate of soda
1 level teaspoon of sea salt
2 tablespoons oil (sesame is particularly good)
4 fl oz (110 ml) hot water, just off the boil

method

1. Combine the seeds, oats and barley and grind finely in a coffee mill or hand mill. these can be pre-roasted to add extra flavour.

2. Add the bicarbonate of soda and the salt and mix well.

3. Then using a wooden spoon add in the oil, mixing to a 'breadcrumb' texture.

4. Add the hot water, mixing to a stiff dough with the wooden spoon or a knife. Knead lightly in the bowl.

5. Divide in half and roll out to 1/8 inch (1/2cm) thickness on a board which has been lightly dusted with rye or barley flour. Half way through rolling, the dough can be sprinkled with extra sesame seeds.

6. Divide the dough into triangles, rectangles or circles and bake on a greased biscuit tray for 15 - 20 minutes at 375°F (190°C) gas mark 5.

7. Cool and then store in an air-tight tin.

What did you think?

5 people have helped to review this recipe. Thankyou!

Not GF
posted by Andy @ 10:02AM, 10/04/08
Be careful, oat are not gluten free!!
Oats are gluten free but not barley
posted by Kelly @ 07:30PM, 10/12/08
Oats do not contain gluten but barley sure does!
Gluten free oatcakes
posted by Carol F @ 10:25AM, 7/15/09
Barley and oats both contain Gluten but some Coeliacs can tolerate oats.
Gluten free oatcake recipe
posted by ladybird @ 05:53AM, 9/26/10
Not a gluten free oatcake!!!!
Wheat free
posted by Felicity @ 08:48PM, 6/06/11
I find lots of people mix up wheat and gluten free. This is wheat free.

As I understand it there are two problems with Oats
1. they are often cross contaminated and harvested or stored with wheat.
2. there are now uncontaminated wheat free/gluten free oats. But oats have a similar grain structure to wheat and about 50% of coeliacs find they can eat uncontaminated oats and 50% react to the similarity in structure and can't eat oats even when they are technically gluten free.
Not gluten free
posted by gf alison @ 11:03PM, 10/04/12
Barley contains gluten you can get certified gluten free oats.
Title:
Review:
Name:
COOKITSIMPLY.COM Home
Sitemap
Contact us
Privacy
Disclaimer
Advertise with us
Glossary
Measurements
Substitutions
Temperatures

newsletter
Sign up to the newsletter for updates and new recipe ideas.
contribute
Add a recipe
Copyright © 2003 - 2010 www.cookitsimply.com - All Rights Reserved